Select and Copy the following to your blog or webpage:
Please login or register an account to add this to your favorites.
Save as Favorite
ILoveUSA Star Rating

Meet the "Boston Americans", who later became the "Boston Red Sox" The American League officially declared itself a major league on January 28, 1901. At that time there were only 8 teams: - Baltimore Orioles (became New York Highlanders in 1903, then New York Yankees in 1903) - Boston Americans (became Boston Red Sox in 1908) - Chicago White Stockings (became Chicago White Sox 1903) - Cleveland Bluebirds (became Cleveland Indians in 1915) - Detroit Tigers (unchanged) - Milwaukee Brewers (became St. Louis Browns in 1902 and Baltimore Orioles in 1954) - Philadelphia Athletics (became Kansas City Athletics in 1955, then Oakland Athletics in 1968) - Washington Senators (became Minnesota Twins in 1961)